Skip to Main Content

TEAM STEM BUILD at UMBC

The following faculty and staff are leading the STEM BUILD at UMBC initiative.

Philip Rous
UMBC Provost and Principal Investigator
Phone: 410.455.2333
Email: rous@umbc.edu

 

William R. LaCourse
Dean, College of the Natural and Mathematical Sciences and Principal Investigator
Phone: 410.455.5827
Email: lacourse@umbc.edu

Philip Farabaugh
Chair, Department of Biological Sciences and Research Core Director
Phone: 410.455.3018
Email: farabaugh@umbc.edu

 

Charles Bieberich
Professor, Department of Biological Sciences and BUILD Training Program Director
Phone: 410.455.3125
Email: bieberic@umbc.edu

Kenneth I. Maton
Professor, Department of Psychology and STEM BUILD at UMBC Lead Evaluator
Phone: 410.455.1055
Email: maton@umbc.edu

Patrice McDermott
UMBC Vice Provost, Faculty Affairs and STEM BUILD at UMBC Leadership Team Member
Phone: 410.455.3150
Email: mcdermot@umbc.edu 

Kathy Lee Sutphin
Assistant Dean for Academic Affairs, College of Natural and Mathematical Sciences and STEM BUILD at UMBC Executive Director
Phone: 410.455.2271
Email: sutphin@umbc.edu

Jacinta Kelly
Assistant Dean for Financial Management, College of Natural and Mathematical Sciences and STEM BUILD at UMBC Leadership Team Member
Phone: 410.455.3038
Email: jkelly@umbc.edu

Anissa J. Brown
NIH Program Director to STEM BUILD at UMBC
National Institute of General Medical Sciences (NIGMS)
National Institutes of Health
brownani@mail.nih.gov

Rob Rivers
NIH Scientist Advisor to STEM BUILD at UMBC
Office of Minority Health Research Coordination
National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK)
National Institutes of Health
Phone:  301.443.8415
Email: robert.rivers@nih.gov

Laura Ott
STEM BUILD at UMBC Active Learning Coordinator/Director, Science Education Research Unit
Phone: 410-455-8089
Email: leott@umbc.edu

Opel T. Jones, I
BTP Program Administrator/STEM LLC Coordinator
Email:  opeljones@umbc.edu

Pauline Campbell
STEM BUILD at UMBC Advisor
410-455-2606
Email:  paulinec@umbc.edu

Rebecca Dongarra
STEM BUILD at UMBC Data Coordinator
Phone: 410-455-8029
Email: dongarra@umbc.edu